Tag Archives: Sonic Youth

Flashlite #298

Electric Six, Dick ValentineWe open up today with a tune from the brand new Electric Six record Human Zoo. Then we move on and check out new albums for two of the Sonic Youth guitarists which are out now, almost simultaneously. Thurston Moore made a really good one called The Best Day and Lee Ranaldo collected songs from his earlier solo albums and put them together in an acoustic setting. We also introduce three new names: Mitski from New York City, Fox and The Law from Settle and Meatbodies from Los Angeles.

Lydia Lunch And Cypress Grove – Summer of My Disconnect;
The Saints – No Your Product;
Electric Six – I Need a Restaurant;
Fuzz – Loose Sutures;
Thurston Moore – The Best Day;
Lee Ranaldo And The Dust – Angles;
Dinsaur JR – Little Fury Things;
J Mascis – Little Fury Things (Live in CLE);
Mitski – Brand New City;
Fox And The Law – Nod To The Devil;
Mozes And The Firstborn – Lady Godiva’s Operation;
Velvet Underground – Lady Godiva’s Operation;
The Meatbodies – The Master;
The Paul Butterfield Blues Band – Screamin’ (Blues Alphabet);
Ty Segall – Green Belly.

Flashlite #244

PursonThe most exciting news for this show is that the legendary Los Angeles band Last have some new songs ready for the album. There were talks about this record for at least eight years now, but it looks like it’s finally ready. Lee Ranaldo from Sonic Youth has a new band called Dust and their drummer Steve Shelley is also there. We have two new bands from London this time. Proctors is a band of paisley underground revisionists and Purson is a strange goth rock band that is equally inspired by Siouxsie Sioux and 60s psychedelic sounds. We dedicate this show to Phil Chevron, guitar player of The Radiators from Space and Pogues.

Paul Kelly And The Messengers – Ghost Town;
Marc Ribot’s Cheramic Dog – Your Turn;
Lee Ranaldo and the Dust – Ambulancer;
Lee Ranaldo – Lost (Planet Nice);
Chelsea Light Moving – Empires of Time;
The Last – Brand New Drug;
The Last – Take Care Of Her;
Rain Parade – This Can’t Be Today;
The Parties – Lets Call It Love;
The Proctors – Ambulance;
Meat Puppets – The Monkey and the Snake (live in CLE);
The Sadies – Another Tomorrow Again;
Lawson And Four More – Halfway Down The Stairs;
The Trashed Romes – Halfway Down The Stairs;
Purson – Rocking Horse;
The Radiators From Space – Television Screen.

Flashlite #163

Janiva MagnessGentleman Jesse is back with the new collection of perfect garage power pop tunes packed onto a new album called Leaving Atlanta. Jeannette, formerly of The Chubbies, now A Brokeheart Pro, has a new album out as well. It’s a companion to her first novel called Josephine The Outlaw King. Lee Ranaldo (ex Sonic Youth) is also back with a very nice retro styled psychedelic record called Between The Times And The Tides with a bunch of conventionally written tunes. The new names today is the blues singer with great vocal Janiva Magness, Tinko – new band from Cleveland and Pajaro Jack, Spanish alt-rock band. Kitty Daisy and Lewis are three siblings who’s mom Ingrid Weiss was in Raincoats and father Graeme Durham is a famous record studio owner and engineer from England. Rock on yall!

Jay Farrar, Yim Yames, Will Johnson and Anders Parker – Hoping Machine;
Gentleman Jesse – If I Can See You (You’re Too Close To Me);
Gentleman Jesse – Eat Me Alive;
Gentleman Jesse – Going Outta My Mind;
A Brokeheart Pro – Bullets Aint Brakes;
Janiva Magness – There It Is;
Holly Renee Allen – Let Love;
Stacie Collins – Jumping Jack Flash;
Royal Baths – Burned;
Tinko – Jaywalking Square;
Lee Ranaldo – Angles;
Mike Therieau – Holding On;
Kitty Daisy and Lewis – Don’t Make a Fool Out of Me;
Raincoats – Fairytale In The Supermarket;
Andre Williams – Hu-Matic Man;
Pájaro Jack – Desde el Tren.

Flashlite #51

Jack OTwo of the greatest 80s college rock bands are back with new albums and we check those out in this show. Sonic Youth with The Eternal and Lemonheads with Varshons. Varshons is completely consisted of covers and one leaked out before the album is actually out; Leonard Cohen’s That’s No Way to Say Goodbye. It’s a duet between Evan Dando and Liv Tyler. This is also a good chance to remind ourselves on how great Cohen is, so we check out two more songs that he wrote: So Long Marianne and First We Take Manhattan. Jack Oblivian has a new album too with his latest band The Tennessee Tearjerkers and it’s called The Disco Outlaw.

Sonic Youth – Teen Age Riot;
Sonic Youth – Antenna;
Demon’s Claws – Mental Revenge;
The Rolling Stones – Poison Ivy;
Oblivians – Happy Blues;
Jack-O & The Tennessee Tearjerkers – Honey I’m Too Old For You;
Jack-O & The Tennessee Tearjerkers – Make Your Mind Up;
Sarah Borges And The Broken Singles – Stop And Think It Over;
The Krayolas – Matter of Time;
Dancing Hoods – Reputation;
Cobra Verde – So Long Marianne;
Lemonheads and Liv Tyler – Hey That’s No Way To Say Goodbye;
Leonard Cohen – Hey, That’s No Way to Say Goodbye;
Warren Zevon – First We Take Manhattan;
Runaways – Secrets.